Archdiocese of Chicago Locators:  Parishes | Elementary Schools | High Schools
Department of Personnel Services
:: Office of the Diaconate
St. Stephen Symposium 2015

            Registration is now open for the St. Stephen Symposium 2015 held on Saturday, November 14, at Divine Providence Church, 2550 Mayfair Avenue in Westchester.

            The theme of this year's Symposium is centered around a day of reflection and prayer. Along with workshops, there will be morning prayer, the rosary and benediction. Mass will be offered at 4 p.m. as part of the parish's regular schedule.

            Father Albert Haase, OFM, a popular radio show host, author, preacher and retreat master, will give the keynote address. His theme will be the “Spiritual Journey as a Process of Transformation.” Father Albert’s talk will set the stage for the day of reflection focusing on our experiences of falling and rising and how prayer is interwoven in those experiences. The workshops, by and large, will further pursue the mystery of the Lord’s redemption of us from what is broken.

            The cost of the day will be $20 and that will cover the continental breakfast and lunch, as well as the workshops.

            The deadline to turn in your workshop registration form is Wednesday, November 4.  Checks should be made payable to: Office of the Diaconate.  Online payments can be made by visiting However, your workshop selection must still be mailed in.

Here is the Symposium 2015 schedule:

8 to 9 a.m.                    Registration/Continental Breakfast
9 a.m.                           Morning Prayer and Welcome
9:30 to 10:30 a.m.        Father Albert Haase, OFM, keynote
10:30 to 10:45 a.m.      Break
10:45 to 11:15 a.m.      Q. and A. with Father Albert Haase
11:30 a.m. to noon       Rosary
Noon to 1:30 p.m.         Lunch
1:30 to 2:45 p.m.          Afternoon Workshops
3:00 to 3:30 p.m.          Benediction
4 p.m.                           Mass

Below are links to workshops and presenters, and the Symposium 2015 registration form.




New Spiritual Director list

A new Spiritual Director list has been created for deacons and wives of the Archdiocese of Chicago. Every member of the Diaconate Community is highly encouraged to have a spiritual director they meet with regularly. Regularly usually means once a month. This is how we maintain ourselves to be spiritually healthy. Our deacons and wives deserve to be at their spiritual best. So do the people they serve.

Below is the link to the Spiritual Director list.



Bishop Perry receives St. Francis Day Award

Bishop Joseph Perry is  the recipient of the 2015 St. Francis Day Award. The award was given at the St. Francis Day Dinner that was held October 4 at Elmcrest Banquets in Elmwood Park. Pictured with Bishop Perry are, from left, Deacon Dave Brencic, Associate Director; Deacon Richard Hudzik, Vicar for Deacons; Deacon Enrique Alonso, Associate Director; and Deacon George Kashmar, chairman of the Diaconate Council. Close to 350 people attended the annual fundraiser.


Sunrise Prayer Service for Peace

A heartfelt prayer for peace drew a large crowd of people Aug. 22 for the annual Sunrise Prayer Service, organized by the Black Catholic Deacons of Chicago.

Bishop Joseph Perry, presided at the Mass, which drew at least 30 deacons, a number of priests and people from a variety of parishes, churches and communities to Oakwood Beach in Chicago.

Archbishop Blase Cupich also addressed the crowd during the Mass and blessed the people.

The focus of the service was to come together to pray for nonviolence and peace, and the healing of families, schools and communities.

Archbishop Blase Cupich, right, addresses the people during the Sunrise Prayer Service, organized by the Black Catholic Deacons of Chicago.








Deacon LeRoy Gill, below, thanks the people for coming to the service.



Bishop Joseph Perry was the celebrant of the Mass at the Sunrise Prayer Service.


Upcoming meetings

Meetings for deacons and wives have been scheduled in Vicariates II, III and V. The meetings provide an opporitunity to meet and talk with our episcopal vicars.

The schedule is as follows:

  • Vicariate II meeting with Bishop Kane: 6:30 p.m. potluck dinner, meeting at 7 p.m. Monday, Oct. 12, at St. Mary of the Lake, 4200 N. Sheridan Road, Chicago. Dinner and meeting held in the school basement. Call Paul Spalla  at (773) 525-7523 to RSVP.

  • Vicariate III meeting with Bishop Rojas: Saturday, Oct. 31, from 9 a.m. to noon at Our Lady of Fatima, 2751 W. 38th Pl., Chicago.

  • Vicariate IV meetings:
    Bishop Manz with Hispanic deacons at 7 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 21, in Fallon Hall of St. Bernadine School.
    Bishop Manz with DDCs at 7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 29, at Diaconate Office.

New retreat dates for 2015-2016

Check out the new retreat schedule for deacons and wives at Stritch Retreat House. New dates have been added starting in October 2015 through June 2016.

Find the schedule under the Needs tab.


Diaconate Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Diaconate Council consists of Deacons Chuck McFarland, vice chairman, left; Dennis Robak, treasurer; George Kashmar, chairman; Bill Stearns, immediate past chairman; and John Gaughan, secretary. Also serving on the committee are Deacon Richard Hudzik, Vicar for Deacons; Fr. Michael Ahlstrom, Vicar Emeritus; and Deacon Dave Brencic, associate director.


 Events Minimize

 Death Announcements Minimize
Death of Rebecca Bartholomew

We are saddened to report the death of Rebecca Bartholomew, the wife of Deacon Thomas Bartholomew, class of 1994, following a long illness.

Memorial visitation will be from 3 to 9 p.m. Friday, Oct. 2, at the Robert Sheehy & Sons Funeral Home, 9000 W. 151st St., Orland Park. A memorial Mass will be held at noon on Saturday, Oct. 3, at St. Michael Church, 14327 Highland Ave., Orland Park.

May her soul and all the souls of the faithful departed rest in peace.


Deaths in our community

Doris Stabile, widow of Deacon Benny Stabile, class of 1988
Sue Kwasigroch, wife of the late Deacon James Kwasigroch, class of 1972. 
Margaret O'Neill, wife of Deacon John O'Neill, class of 1978, died July 30.
Deacon John O'Neill, class of 1978, died July 29.
Deacon Charles Leone, class of 1988, died April 16.
Deacon Ray Deabel, class of 1979, died April 6.
Deacon Ellsworth Cordesman, 90, class of 1974, died April 4
Deacon Steven Moore, class of 1994, died March 30.
Elena Medieta, wife of Deacon Raul Medieta, class of 1972, died March 4
Deacon Alfred V. Gaspari, class of 1997, died Feb. 21
Deacon Maximiliano Carrizales, class of 1988, died Feb. 12.
Deacon Frank Foys, class of 1982, died Feb. 8.
Dorothy Gallagher, wife of Deacon James Gallagher, died Jan. 22
Deacon Serafin Molinaro, class of 1976, died Jan. 22.
Deacon Jorge Rozo, 78, class of 1992, died Jan. 20.
Agnes Barrett, widow of Deacon Robert Barrett, class of 1977, died Jan. 15.

         Please keep all the faithful departed and their families in your prayers.


 Text/HTML Minimize