Archdiocese of Chicago Locators:  Parishes | Elementary Schools | High Schools
Department of Personnel Services
:: Office of the Diaconate
Sunrise Prayer Service for Peace

A heartfelt prayer for peace drew a large crowd of people Aug. 22 for the annual Sunrise Prayer Service, organized by the Black Catholic Deacons of Chicago.

Bishop Joseph Perry, presided at the Mass, which drew at least 30 deacons, a number of priests and people from a variety of parishes, churches and communities to Oakwood Beach in Chicago.

Archbishop Blase Cupich also addressed the crowd during the Mass and blessed the people.

The focus of the service was to come together to pray for nonviolence and peace, and the healing of families, schools and communities.

Archbishop Blase Cupich, right, addresses the people during the Sunrise Prayer Service, organized by the Black Catholic Deacons of Chicago.








Deacon LeRoy Gill, below, thanks the people for coming to the service.



Bishop Joseph Perry was the celebrant of the Mass at the Sunrise Prayer Service.


St. Francis Day Dinner 2015

Join us for our annual St. Francis Day Dinner fundraiser on Sunday Oct. 4. See link.


Celebration of Ordination


The class of 2015 was warmly welcomed at the St. Lawrence Day Mass Aug. 9 at St. Aloysius Church in Chicago. 
Deacon  Enrique Alonso  and his wife Juanita, from the Class of 1975, acknowledge the congratulations at the Mass.

Photos by Deacon Hans Goeckner

Deacons, wives and families, at left, attended the St. Lawrence Day Festival of Ordination.



A delicious catered meal, below, was served after Mass in the St. Aloysius Parish Center.


Upcoming Vicariate meetings

Meetings for deacons and wives have been scheduled in Vicariates II, III and V. The meetings provide an opporitunity to meet and talk with our episcopal vicars.

The schedule is as follows:

  • Vicariate II meeting with Bishop Kane: 6 p.m. dinner, meeting at 7 p.m. Monday, Oct. 12, at St. Mary of the Lake, 4200 N. Sheridan Road, Chicago.

  • Vicariate III meeting with Bishop Rojas: Saturday, Oct. 31. Time and place to be determined.

  • Vicariate V meeting with Bishop Wypych: Wednesday, September 9, at 7 p.m. at St. Bernadette Church, 9349 S. Francisco Ave., Evergreen Park. 

2015 Ministry Award winners honored at Convocation

Archbishop Blase Cupich, left, 
 along with Fr. Mike Ahlstrom, far
 right, congratulate Deacons
 James Norman and Mike
 McManus for winning the 2015
 St. Stephen the Deacon Award
 at the June Convocation.
   (Photo by Deacon Hans Goeckner)


      Deacons Mike McManus and James Norman were the recipients of the St. Stephen Deacon Award at Convocation 2015 held June 13 at St. John Brebeuf Church in Niles.
      McManus and Norman received the top ministry award for organizing and presiding at Communion services for people in the neighborhood around Provident Hospital. The two deacons also provided and paid for lunch following the services.
      "These two deacons have been reaching the poorest of the poor in Chicago by bringing the love of Christ to the homeless," read the nomination letter.
       McManus serves at St. Thecla Parish, while Norman ministers at Our Lady of Sorrows, both in Chicago.
      The St. Philip Award for witness in the field of evangelization was given to Deacon Jaimie Rios for his role as president of the Hispanic Deacons Association. Rios has initiated webcasting for the meetings, created a calendar of events and membership telephone directories, and was instrumental in facilitating the Congreso held in 2014 at St. Aloysius Church.
      "This deacon is a whirlwind of activity," read the nomination letter. Rios serves at St. Wenceslaus Parish in Chicago
      Deacon William Pouncy, of St. Martin de Porres Parish in Chicago, received the St. Lawrence Award  for ministry to the "treasurers of the Church" -- the poor and needy.
      Pouncy is very involved in his parish -- chairing the liturgy committee and men's club, is a chaplain to the Knights of Peter Claver,  visits the sick, trains the lectors, is part of the annual prayer service at the beach, and works to foster devotion to St. Peregrine at Our Lady of Sorrows.
     The St. Priscilla Award for a woman's service to the Church and the Diaconate was presented to Shawn Tiemeier for her variety of ministries at St. Joseph Parish in Libertyville, but also her work with the incarcerated through Kairos Prison Ministry. Tiemeier served as local chapter president for Women at the Well Prison Ministry ministering to the women at the maximum security prison at Logan Correctional Center.
     "This ministry truly amplifies the servant and the calliing of Jesus when He asked, 'When did you visit me in prison?'" the nomination letter read.
     Deacon Leo Restrepo and his wife Amparo received this year's Shared Ministry Award for ministry as a deacon and wife couple. The Restrepos' pastor nominated them for their work in facilitating the Life in the Spirit series of workshops. The 12- to 14-week series focuses on the power of prayer and Scripture.
     "The couple themselves are seen as fine examples of prayerful people who witness and practice what they preach -- all to the good of the parish at Our Lady of Lourdes," wrote Father Michael Shanahan. 

Archbishop Blase Cupich, along with Fr. Mike Ahlstrom, congratulate Shawn Tiemeier on receiving the St. Priscilla Award for women's ministry.
(Photos courtesy
of Deacon Randy Belice)

Deacon Jaime Rios receives the St. Philip Award for Evangelization from Archbishop Cupich and Fr. Mike.




Archbishop Cupich and Fr. Mike present Deacon Wiliam Pouncy, at right, with the St. Lawrence Award for ministry to the poor.


New retreat dates for 2015-2016

Check out the new retreat schedule for deacons and wives at Stritch Retreat House. New dates have been added starting in October 2015 through June 2016.

Find the schedule under the Needs tab.


Diaconate Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Diaconate Council consists of Deacons Chuck McFarland, vice chairman, left; Dennis Robak, treasurer; George Kashmar, chairman; Bill Stearns, immediate past chairman; and John Gaughan, secretary. Also serving on the committee are Deacon Richard Hudzik, Vicar for Deacons; Fr. Michael Ahlstrom, Vicar Emeritus; and Deacon Dave Brencic, associate director.


 Events Minimize
Today  View Date:   

AugustSeptember 2015October


 Death Announcements Minimize
Death of Noreen Traynor

Noreen Traynor, mother of Mary Malloy and mother--in-law of Deacon William Malloy, class of 1999, has died.

The wake will be from 3 to 7 p.m. Monday, Sept. 7, at Countryside Funeral Home, 950 S. Bartlett in Barlett. The funeral Mass will be at 11 a.m. Tuesday, Sept. 8, at St. Peter Damian Church, 131 W. Crest, Bartlett.

May her soul and all of the souls of the faithful departed rest in peace.


Deaths in our community
  • Sue Kwasigroch, wife of the late Deacon James Kwasigroch, class of 1972. 
  • Margaret O'Neill, wife of Deacon John O'Neill, class of 1978, died July 30.
  • Deacon John O'Neill, class of 1978, died July 29.
  • Deacon Charles Leone, class of 1988, died April 16.
  • Deacon Ray Deabel, class of 1979, died April 6.
  • Deacon Ellsworth Cordesman, 90, class of 1974, died April 4
  • Deacon Steven Moore, class of 1994, died March 30.
  • Elena Medieta, wife of Deacon Raul Medieta, class of 1972, died March 4
  • Deacon Alfred V. Gaspari, class of 1997, died Feb. 21
  • Deacon Maximiliano Carrizales, class of 1988, died Feb. 12.
  • Deacon Frank Foys, class of 1982, died Feb. 8.
  • Dorothy Gallagher, wife of Deacon James Gallagher, died Jan. 22
  • Deacon Serafin Molinaro, class of 1976, died Jan. 22.
  • Deacon Jorge Rozo, 78, class of 1992, died Jan. 20.
  • Agnes Barrett, widow of Deacon Robert Barrett, class of 1977, died Jan. 15.

         Please keep all the faithful departed and their families in your prayers.


 Text/HTML Minimize